Picxie de Lescaut                 Kennel Eloisa                 Picxie de Lescaut

Home   ABOUT US   News   Our dogs   Litters   Puppies   Champions   Gallery   Links  


Who am I?
I live together with my husband in one-family house in Mouhijärvi, which is small country village between Tampere and Pori. We have six belgian shepherd dogs and two budgies, which I want to get more in the future. I work at the vet as assistant and I really love this job.

I work with my dog in different species like tracking, IPO, Agility and obedience. I have also shown my dogs a lot, even abroad, but now I concentrate on working. Dog shows have been more the good reason to travel. For me any other species is not more important than the others because I like to try different species and we do what is pleasant and what the dog loves.


History
I have always wanted an own dog. In every christmas I wrote to Santa Claus that I would like to have a dog. I got different toys until 1985 my dream came true and I got my own living dog. My first dog should have been flat-coated retriever male, but one retriever man thought that flat-coated is too exacting dog for young girl as a first dog. So I made a new decision and I got Belgian shepherd...

I came familiar with Belgians because one of my friends had groenendael male Ebenos Bacchus "Bacu". Bacu impressed me on his open mind and endless passion for taking part to everything. Bacu's owner told me that there will be Belgian litter in Tampere and so we got groenendael male puppy Shylock from this litter. His nickname was "Lucky". I joined the Belgian Shepherd dog association of Finland and took part also some camps for Belgians. At the same time I played football (soccer) and went in for sports (athletics), which took most of my freetime so Lucky was mostly my jogging friend.

In 1994 I quit sport because of many injuries and I took the second dog Cino and about 1,5 years later we got co-owned dog Mila, both of them are from kennel Wintergame. With these two dogs I worked a lot in many dog sports. With Mila I came familiar with breeding and we had 5 litters: Wintergame L-, M-, N-, O- and Willow Creek E-litters. With these litters I got a lot of experience, information and help from you Sari and Sanna, so my hearty thanks, you have been irreplaceable friends! In 2007 I passed breeding courses and I got my own kennel name.


Target as a breeder
Most important features for me are character and health. In character the most important thing is working capasity. I like a dog with high temperament, who has desire to fight and want to pleasure. I try to breed lively dogs, with who you can compete in national species, agility, obedince and why not in IPO also.

Health is more difficult part because every dog has his own risks and with these risks you just have to live. Most of the hereditary diseases come out when dogs are about 4-5 years old. In that age you also have more health information from the dogs and their littermaters. So that's why I try to avoid to breed with young dogs.

Breeding is not easy, so that's why I make co-operation with other breeders who have same idea and to who I can trust. There is no perfect dog and every dog needs something and that's why you have to recognize and accept the facts to go forward. Breeding is like wave motion, one step forward and two back or vice versa. Things just not happen as you want and hope.


Puppies
Puppies live in the house with us and other dogs. I play with them and get them used to different sounds, materials and grounds, so they would have as well starting point of good working dog as possible. Before puppies go to their new home (at the age of 7 weeks) they have been wormed 3 times, they have microchip and medical examination. To owners I will give informations how to take care of the puppy.


16.12.2007 Mouhijärvi,
kennel Eloisa, Erja Juvakka